EXPerience zone 2

Gaston County is divided into twelve municipalities. 
Gastonia is the larger of the twelve and is the county seat.

​​​Belmont, Bessemer City, Cherryville, Cramerton, Dallas, Dellview, 
High Shoals, Lowell, McAdenville, Mt. Holly, Ranlo, Spencer Mountain, Stanley

Zone Transcription

Welcome to Zone 2- Gaston County Municipalities or Townships

In Belmont, Mr. Charles B. Reid is noted as Founder of the first African American School, Reid High School.

Belmont can also claim Mrs. Julia Neal Sykes, a renowned author of four books and retired public school teacher. The museum was able to honor her for her work during National Author’s Day in 2019.

Mt. Holly is home to  Ransom Hunter, a former slave who became a successful businessman after gaining his freedom. ​​​

We also would like to acknowledge all the people in the military service in this zone, one in particular being Master Sergeant James William Smith. Master Sergeant Smith is known for taking apart a broomstick to plug holes in an aircraft so him and his team could arrive safely in Vietnam during the war